LOS ANGELES, CA – Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors Chair Hilda L. Solis, Supervisor to the First District, issued the following statement in response to the announcement that the Emergency Intake Site (EIS) for unaccompanied children at the Pomona Fairplex will end operations by November 19th, with the last reunifications to take place by October 26th:

“Of the 10 million residents who call Los Angeles County home, 1 million are undocumented immigrants. Thus, when President Biden’s administration reached out to my office to assist with the influx of unaccompanied children, I said yes right away and identified the Fairplex to serve as the emergency intake site. The Fairplex has served as a beacon of hope for our east San Gabriel Valley community throughout the COVID-19 pandemic – first as a quarantine and isolation site, then as a testing location, and most recently, a vaccination point of distribution. I knew without question that the Fairplex and community of Pomona would step up for this mission and for that I am grateful.

The reunifications of over 8,000 unaccompanied children with family members or qualified sponsors, in the span of six months is heartening and attributed to the commitment of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Cherokee Federal, various County departments, nonprofit partners, and residents. Visiting the site multiple times, I witnessed how personal this was for many caseworkers, nurses, and educators – their dedication to providing holistic care and services was nothing short of extraordinary.

I thank President Biden, Vice President Harris, and Secretary Xavier Becerra for recognizing the importance of this issue, and I am committed to continuing to advocate alongside them for comprehensive immigration reform.”

Chair Solis was the first to announce the opening of the EIS at the Pomona Fairplex and has frequently visited the facility since it opened in April. Additionally, Chair Solis activated the support of various County agencies to assist in this mission, including the Office of Immigrant Affairs, Office of Education, and the Departments of Children and Family Services, Public Health, Health Services, and Mental Health.